Today is Tue April 25, 2017
13 Nov. 2015

2015 Steinberg Playwright Award named

Dominique Morisseau and Branden Jacobs-Jenkins have been chosen to receive the 2015 Steinberg Playwright Award from the Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust.

Dominique Morisseau

Dominique Morisseau

The Steinberg Playwright Awards are presented biennially to playwrights in early and middle stages of their careers, who have distinctive and compelling voices, and whose current bodies of work exhibit exceptional talent and artistic excellence. The awards celebrate the accomplishments of some of the most gifted up-and-coming American playwrights and honor the promise they hold for the future of American theater.

The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust was created by Harold Steinberg in 1986 in his name and the name of his late wife, Miriam. The Trust’s primary mission is to support and promote the American theater as a vital part of our culture by nurturing American playwrights, encouraging the development and production of new American plays, and by providing significant support to theater companies across the country.

The awards event will feature readings by Jocelyn Bioh, Jason Dirden, Austin Durant, Dominique Fishback, Wendell Franklin, Lynda Gravatt, Nikiya Mathis, Chris Myers, Carra Patterson, Will Rogers, Michele Shay and Brian Tyree Henry. Also expected to attend are Steinberg Board of Directors members Carole Krumland, Jim Steinberg, Michael Steinberg and William Zabel; 2015 Steinberg Playwright Awards Advisory Committee Members Jeremy Cohen, Paige Evans, Kwame Kwei-Armah,

Branden Jacob-Jenkins

Branden Jacob-Jenkins

Neil Pepe, Bill Rauch, Carole Rothman and Chay Yew; as well as Stephen Adly Guirgis (Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award winner, 2014), Hilton Als, Annie Baker (Steinberg Playwright Award winner, 2013), Geneva Carr, Liza Colón Zayas, Lisa d’Amour (Steinberg Playwright Award winner, 2011) Mara Davi, John Ellison Conlee, Kamilah Forbes, Montego Glover, Wendy Goldberg, Barry Grove, Joshua Harmon, Stephen Henderson, David Henry Hwang (Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award winner, 2012), James Houghton, Tom Hulce, Rajiv Joseph (Steinberg Playwright Award winner, 2013), Stephen Karam, Celia Keenan-Bolger, Boo Killebrew, Lynne Meadow, Lynn Nottage (Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award winner, 2010), Okieriete Onaodowan, Ashley Park, Benj Pasek, Laura Pels, Joel Perez, Ira Pittelman, Conrad Ricamora, Daryl Roth, Ruben Santiago-Hudson, Tracey Scott Wilson, Ryan Spahn, Sarah Stiles, Wesley Taylor, Neil Tyrone Pritchard, Michael Urie, Morgan Weed, Zoe Winters and more.

The awards event is held at the Lincoln Center Theater, in the Mitzi E. Newhouse Theater, Vivian Beaumont Theater Lobby, 150 West 65th Street, New York, NY 10023 on Monday November 16.

About the author

Sandra Varner has had her hands on the pulse of the entertainment industry and lifestyles coverage for decades, staying current, always.


Leave a Reply

* fields required